Log: AM BCB, November 16th

More AM broadcast band DXing with my 6-foot diagonal wooden-frame “loopzilla”, RTL-SDR dongle, Ham It Up upconverter combo from the back patio. Includes audio of several station identifications, best heard with headphones.

This was a somewhat frustrating night because I had what were probably several new stations, but could not get call letters or enough other information to log them. I still added two stations to my log, but spent a lot of time to get those.

I spent an hour on 900 kHz, trying to get call letters for previously logged XEDT, and/or a new logging for the other Spanish-language station that kept trying to fade in. It took a full hour, but I did at least get a top-of-the-hour (TOH) recording for XEDT.
900 XEDT, Cuauhtemoc CH, medium at 9:02pm, 5000W, call (re-log), 538 miles
They were coming out of Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick In The Wall” of all things, and did the call in a weird order, but covered the city, state, call letters, FM translator, and network:

I then struggled for nearly 2 hours on 910 kHz trying to sort out at least three stations, one with Sunday Night Football (presumed KGME out of Phoenix), one religious (likely KPOF that I’ve already logged), and one with Mexican music (unknown). It has been relatively cold here and sitting outside when it was in the 20s (Fahrenheit) was getting to me, so I took some indoor breaks and listened to the audio later.

I finally went to 920 and a half-hour of listening to U.S. political talk radio, a Spanish-language station talking about ObamaCare, and a Mexican music station, which yielded a webcast match and on-air slogan for XEQD. That was enough to log it.
920 XEQD, Chihuahua CH, weak at 11:21pm (0621UT), 250W, slogan and webcast (new), 555 miles
I didn’t bother editing the sound file for the slogan and hopefully I’ll record the call letters sometime.

The most interesting frequency of the night was 940. Unfortunately, there was a strong off-frequency “het” that later analysis put at about 940.175 Hz. I’ve heard this before and it creates a fairly persistent 175 Hz hum that makes listening really unpleasant. I had multiple Spanish-language stations and one English station. I even got a webcast match for XEMMM out of Mexicali, but the station would not stay in well enough for me to hear at least a slogan over the air, so I never logged it. But, leading into the midnight TOH, I got a surprise call of a station that we had been discussing on a mailing list to which I subscribe. I lived in Wyoming for 8 years, so I’m hoping to eventually pick up a couple local stations from where I lived. This isn’t one of them, but always nice to hear from a former state.
940 KMER, Kemmerer WY, weak at 11:59pm (0659UT), 150, call (new), 513 miles
This is a pretty good catch given the low power of the station; even during the day they only go up to 240 watts. Unfortunately, my software recording failed, but two nights later I was able to barely get the call again, so here’s that recording which contains two instances of the call letters:

I continued on the frequency for another half-hour, hoping to get another call out of wee KMER, but it didn’t happen, and then I spent another half-hour on 950 kHz. I had at least one station (carrying Coast To Coast) in a decent nulling of dominant KWRZ out of Colorado, but I was unable to confirm a call, even at the 1am TOH.

Leave a Reply

