Log: AM BCB, November 26th-28th

More AM broadcast band DXing with my 6-foot diagonal wooden-frame “loopzilla”, RTL-SDR dongle, Ham It Up upconverter combo from the back patio. Includes audio of several station identifications, best heard with headphones.

November 26th-27th, 2014

Still on Thanksgiving break and back out at 11:23pm after an early evening session. I checked 530 kHz for Cuba, and was getting halfway decent audio from the music station (presumed Radio Enciclopedia), but nothing special. Went to 550 and after getting unneeded KLLV call at 11:27pm with the loop SW-NE, went W-E and was hearing country music. Was certainly hoping it was KUZZ, but “local” KFYI out of Phoenix kept horning in. But, it didn’t take long to catch the call letters in a song break:
550 KUZZ, Bakersfield CA, weak at 11:47pm (0647UT), 5000W, call (new), 370 miles
This one is interesting because the station was owned by late country legend Buck Owens, who adopted Bakersfield as his hometown. Country song into gravel-voiced DJ saying “K-U-Z-Z, has (that’s?) today’s country”:

I then went to 990 kHz, taking another shot at getting KTKT out of Tucson, with it’s Spanish-language ESPN format. However, XEER out of Mexico popped in pretty well and I surprisingly picked up their call letters for the first time:
990 XEER, Cuidad Cuauhtemoc CH, medium at 11:53pm, 250W, call (re-log; first call letters)
No it’s not a Taco Johns commercial, it’s the actual “Feliz Navidad” by José Feliciano into announcer giving the full identification including “eckes-achay-eh-eray” for the FM translator, “eckes-eh-eh-eray” for AM and “Chihuahua, Mexico” among other things:

By 11:58pm, presumed KTKT was back, and I heard the “ESPN Deportes” slogan, so that was good. But, at the top of the hour, the signal got a little rough, and instead of getting KTKT call, it was KWKW! That is 1330 kHz out of Los Angeles, and I believe this is the flagship for ESPN Deportes. But, I never heard a call for KTKT, which is required once per hour. I’m not really sure what to make of that, but I’ll have to wait until I get a real call to log the station. Here’s the recording anyway:

I was at it for another two hours, listening to a few more frequencies and getting some almost-identifications, but nothing I could log. No bueno.

November 27th-28th, 2014

I spent about 1.5 hours after sunset on the 27th logging nothing new and quit for a while. But, hey, vacation, so I went back out a little after 10pm. I had a tip from the IRCA mailing list that the signal from 1440 KRDZ out of Colorado was getting out particular well. I have a 1000-watt transmitter on 1450 just 1.8 miles away, but if I use a narrow bandwidth offset to the low side of 1440, I can sort of pick up stuff on that frequency. Indeed, I was able to weakly pick up the oldies format of KRDZ and get a webcast match. But, I tried for more than half an hour to hear some sort of identification over-the-air and couldn’t. I went elsewhere for a while and didn’t get anything at the midnight top of the hour.

After midnight, I ended up on 1190 kHz and was hearing various things including Rod Stewart’s “Do Ya Think I’m Sexy” and Spanish talking. However, even not pointed very directly towards Canada, I ended up getting country music station CFSL out of Weyburn, Saskatchewan at 1121 miles. Canadian stations can be bad about giving IDs (there are only required to do it once per day, unlike the once per hour in the U.S.), but I quickly got a webcast match and during one song break they made several mentions of Weyburn. By that point, the signal was really bombing in and the U.S. FCC says that they should be sending nearly all of their 5000-watt signal to the north at night. I’ve logged them before, and it seems that there is something “interesting” going on.

I went back to 1440 at 12:52am (0752UT) and the KRDZ signal was better. It only took a couple minutes to get the call letters in the next song break:
1440 KRDZ, Wray CO, weak at 12:54am (0754UT), 212W, call (new), 682 miles
It seems like there is something “interesting” going on here, too. Anyway, out of “Rubberband Man” by The Spinners, into “(eagle cry) Home of the Wray Eagles, and your favorite classic hits, 1440 K-R-D-Z”:

I ended the night on 1390, where I had a bit of a Mexican standoff. XEKT out of Tecate, Baja California was coming in well as usual from the southwest, but when I had the loop rotated more N-S, I was getting another Spanish-language music station. (In fact, I think there was a third Spanish-language station in the mix.) But, it didn’t take too long to get the distinctive “La Reyna Del Mar” slogan, which I felt was good enough to log:
1390 XEQC, Puerto Peñasco SO, weak at 1:22am (0822), 150W, slogan (new), 230 miles
“La Reyna Del Mar” translates as “The Queen of the Sea”, and Puerto Peñasco is a popular beach spot for Arizonans.  Here is the audio with the slogan coming through some very heavy fading of the signal:

Leave a Reply

