Log: AM BCB, December 12th

More AM broadcast band DXing with my 6-foot diagonal wooden-frame “loopzilla”, RTL-SDR dongle, Ham It Up upconverter combo from the back patio. Includes audio of several station identifications, best heard with headphones. All times given in MST and UT; the dates are MST.

I was still continuing to experiment with my new equipment by this point and will talk about that in another post. But, I went back to just my old tuned loop for another session, starting at midnight. On 760 kHz, I was getting an unexpectedly strong Spanish-language station, on which it sounded like an outdoor religious service, with occasional commentary from a woman. I had the loop roughly N-S, so it seems likely it was from Mexico, but it took me a while to guess what it might be. I finally got a webcast match for XENY, and given the very distinctive programming, I decided that was good enough:
760 XENY, Nogales SO, strong at 12:51am (0751UT), 5000W, webcast and distinct program (new; loop), 239 miles
I’m sure I’ve had this station before, but just not able to identify it. Interestingly, while this broadcast was in progress, the station suddenly quit as if they cut from day power to night power, or just went off the air, revealing mostly static at 12:58am:

Since I was right there and didn’t have a chance to do anything else before the top of the hour, I rotated the loop to catch the identification for 760 KFMB San Diego, and then quickly went to 770 KKOB Albuquerque for the same:

I went for 580 kHz and was getting American pop music with Spanish between songs. It was certainly not KSAZ Tucson, and didn’t match webcast for XEFI. That left XEHO as the best candidate, but I couldn’t find a webcast. I finally got their “Maxima” slogan at 1:19am. And during a longer identification, I was able to pick out the announcer taking “Cuidad Obregon”, so I decided that was good enough:
580 XEHO, Cuidad Obregon SO, medium at 1:26am (0826UT), 250W, slogan and city (new; loop), 504 miles
Interestingly, I eventually did get the “Stereo Mexicana” slogan for XEFI, a WIBW Topeka KS call, and a very rough call for XEFI at the 2am TOH. Those two are more normally what I get on the frequency, plus KMJ out of Fresno, depending on the direction of my loop antenna.

Also interesting was 1420 kHz. I got there just after 2:30am and immediately got a “Cochise County” reference, and shortly after, a “K-TAN” call. They were broadcasting Coast To Coast, and under that I was getting Spanish music. That turned out to match the XEF webcast at 2:39pm (0939UT). Finally, 15 minutes later, I was able to hear their “Activa” slogan over the air so I could log it:
1420 XEF, Cuidad Juarez CH, weak at 2:55am (0955UT), 500W, webcast and slogan (new; loop), 402 miles
Then, KTAN came back for the top of the hour, but faded out while I was trying to record it, so it didn’t come out well.

Since I was in the neighborhood, I worked on 1400 kHz for a while. I have a lot of trouble picking up moderate-power stations in the daytime from the Phoenix and Tucson areas, and then these distances aren’t ideal for skywave propagation at night, plus there may be local terrain issues. However, I got a webcast match for KSUN, then got the over-the-air “La Major” slogan for their Mexican music, to fill in one of my closest unheard stations:
1400 KSUN, Phoenix AZ, weak at 3:15am (1015UT), 1000W, webcast and slogan (new; loop), 84 miles

I picked up several previously logged, KSHP out of Las Vegas (Radio Shopping Network), KTUC out of Tucson (nostalgic oldies), and KCYK out of Yuma (country). Then I worked some frequencies in the 1300s, but no more new stations.

Leave a Reply

