Amateur radio: HF antenna project

Finally some more ham radio content. After getting my license in May, I passed my General exam in June, achieving my goal of better than a 90% score. I even applied for a vanity call in June and received it after the nominal 3-week wait (K7HKR; “K7 Hiker”). My goal starting out was to use home-brew antennas (except for my handheld). But, I got distracted by the summer FM broadcast band sporadic-E season, and hiking trips, and the fall equinox trans-Pacific AM broadcast band DXing season, and work, etc. Thus, I haven’t been taking advantage of having a large fraction of amateur radio frequencies available to me.

Finally, though, I am close to getting on the air on HF! I’ve been building a magnetic loop transmitting antenna for 10 and 20 meters. I purchased a high-voltage variable capacitor from Nebraska Surplus and I’m using 1/2-inch copper coil for the larger (10-foot circumference) secondary loop. More details later, and I am shooting footage for my video blog, but here are a couple pictures:

img_20161107_211918

img_20161107_211838

Leave a Reply

